CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-13-2008, 08:04 AM   #1
jaclyn troup

Profile:  
switching to CF

I've been weightlifting (for fitness competitions) for 2 years now, and am familiar with most squats, dl, presses, cleans, etc.. mostly 6-12 rep range.
i NEVER do cardio but now im looking to also improve my cardio without only running.. its boring and my knees dont like it. im tired of my typical weight split and not feeling like i`m getting any fitter, even though I have a fair amount of muscle for a female (23 years, 5'4, 125 lbs). this is why i want to start CF.
ive had shoulder injuries in the past so i want to build my way up slowly.. does anyone have a link to a beginner program i can follow? i had found one once before called the combat fitness traning or something similiar but i cant find it anymore and my search didnt yield anything. (Im also in the army..)

thanks!!
Old 08-13-2008, 09:10 AM   #2
Matthew Stafford

Profile:
Re: switching to CF

There is a link on the main CrossFit website named "Start Here". Clicking that will give you a nice summary, but hovering over it will provide you with a menu that includes "Nutrition Info" and "Brand X Scaled Workouts". The Brand X link is what you are looking for, as they provide scaled workouts for beginners.

Take some time and peruse the main site, it has almost all the answers you need.
Old 08-13-2008, 11:32 AM   #3
Bob Guere

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaclyn troup View Post
I've been weightlifting (for fitness competitions) for 2 years now, and am familiar with most squats, dl, presses, cleans, etc.. mostly 6-12 rep range.