CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout Logs
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout Logs Post your logs here!

Old 11-17-2007, 09:52 PM   #1
Randy Nelson

Profile:
Randy's Winter Experiment

Background, I am a career firefighter/paramedic. 34 yo M 6 ft. 3 in. 205 lbs.

I was exposed to crossfit type training in 2003 and started doing it as my workout of choice in 2005. Even then I would cherry pick the workouts and focused on met con, calisthenic type workouts largely ignoring the strength and olympic moves. In 2005 I suffered a back injury (on duty, poor lifting tech.) Only to repeat it almost a year to the date later in 2006. (poor lifting form on light weight deadlifts.) A coulple of months later, armed with a new crossfit cert. a copy of "starting strength" and about $1,000 of personal crossfit equipment I started following the WOD. Progress this year has been good, seven months post injury I deadlifted 295 lbs.

Even with following the WOD I still found my strength lacking and noticed how it affected my performance in workouts like Fran (God, I hate Fran!) I kept carefull track of my workouts and over the year started developing a program to improve my strength and power while not loosing alot of met con.

The program would incorporate CrossFit and Starting Strength and would need to fit in a 4 day on, 2 day rest schedual. (I work 48 on, 96 off and find it hard to workout on duty) I plan to follow the program for at least 3 months or untill I stop seeing emprovment.

To be continued.....
Old 11-17-2007, 10:18 PM   #2
Randy Nelson

Profile:
Re: Randy's Winter Experiment

The program,
I set up a 4 day on 2 day rest to fit with my work schedual. It consists of 4 "cycles" and then repeats.

1- Back Squat 5x5
2- 21,15,9 reps- HSPU, ring dips, pushups
3- Deadlift 5x5
4- WOD

1- Back Squat 5x5
2- 21,15,9 reps- 95lb thrusters, pullups
3- Power Clean 5x5
4- WOD