CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 11-28-2007, 07:24 AM   #1
Jeran Kuenzie

Profile:
New; can only do CF 3 days a week.

Hi everybody. I've been lifting weights for several years off and on, more seriously the past year. I am a soccer nut. Glad to be here and excited about CF. Now, for my dilemma....

I can only make it to the gym 3 days per week. How am I supposed to do CF with that type of schedule?

Hitting it after work is the only option. I have no gym equipment at my house, just a 60lb bag in the basement (that I have no type of formal training for).

Is there some type of 3 day split? I just don't feel that a WOD 3 days a week is going to do it for me.

I have been focusing on strength over the past year and doing a lot of low rep, high weight type work. I focus on the big 3, deadlifts, squats, and bench. I prefer compound movements and do very little isolation work. That is part of why CF is so appealing to me.... it looks like lots of compound stuff. I'm sad to say my cardio has been severely lacking lately, so I know that will be an issue at first.

Any suggestions for me? Glad to be here....
Old 11-28-2007, 09:29 AM   #2
Jared Ashley

Profile:
Re: New; can only do CF 3 days a week.

I think you'll find that although you are probably strong from your current lifting, crossfit will be MUCH more taxing, and 3 WOD/week will provide you with gains, especially in cardio since you're saying it's a weak area right now. If you absolutely can't get to the gym more than 3 days a week, I'd say pick up a few low-cost items for home and do what you can the other days. You'll find you really don't need much; I work out 100% at home, with only the following:

- Homemade squat cage with pullup bar
- standard barbell & plates
- spin-lock adjustable dumbells