CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 07-17-2006, 08:27 AM   #1
Greg Battaglia

Profile:
Ok, so I've had a history of shoulder problems. When I was a kid I never performed any wieght training. For exercise I road my bike, played sports, and went swimming. As soon as I started lifting weights (bodybuilding to be specific) when I was twelve years old I began to encounter one shoulder injury after another. I noticed that exercises like bench pressing and shoulder pressing had the most detrimental effect on my shoulder joints. After years of shoulder injuries I gave up on weights and adopted a bodyweight only routine in which I performed only exercises, ran, swam, skipped rope, and hit a heavy bag and a speed bag. With this came a complete absence of any shoulder pain or injuries and I actually saw a major improvement in shoulder strength and stability. After finding crossfit my shoulder initially felt fine until a few months ago when I pulled a muscle in my shoulder. Ever since then my shoulder hasn't been the same, even after providing it with adequate recovery. Sometimes it feels great but I also experience flare-ups. Now to actually get to the topic of the post, what do you all think about using evolutionary standards in avoiding injuries? I mean, I highly doubt that our ancestors were doing shoulder presses, bench pressed, or even movements like OHS's and snatches (although I do acknowledge that the latter two are extremely effect at improving performance). I believe that we are much more likely to become injured during activities like these (as opposed to bodyweight calisthenics) is because our bodies have not evolved to sustain the pressure of such movements. So, I'm thinking that if we follow a more H/G oriented activity pattern that we will all experience much fewer injuries (if any at