CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-07-2008, 06:04 AM   #1
Wendy Nichols

Profile:
For the women

Hi girls. I'm nearly 50, had 9 lb babies in my 20's and ever since have had to deal with bladder leakage. Not bad enough for surgery, but enough that wearing a light pad during active sports is a necessity. So.... that continues for lifting, squatting, jumping, running (and sometimes coughing, sneezing.. hahaha).

If any of you experience the same thing, does it go away, or lighten up as one gets a stronger core? Have you noticed a difference, if any?

And are there other women here 50+? I'm a beginner with crossfit but have always had a very active lifestyle.

W.
Old 05-07-2008, 06:44 AM   #2
Susie Rosenberg

Profile:
Re: For the women

Hiya, Wendy and welcome!

I'm 52 yo, and also had a baby 9.5 lbs.

I had some urinary urgency and stress incontinence when I was heavy, but that went away when I got really fit.

Have you tried Kegel exercises?

Susie
Old 05-07-2008, 06:56 AM   #3
Lisbeth Darsh

Profile:

I'm no expert on this but it's my understanding that Pelvic Floor Dysfunction should decrease with greater lifting (without a belt) and other exercises designed to strengthen your midline (which, of course, includes your TVA.)

In other words, yes to lots of lifting and core work.

Also, on the amusing side, Wendy, I first read your post too quickly and thought that you had 9 babies in your 20's.

And, since it's a CrossFit board and we have to "throw down" in every aspect, I am forced to tell you both that I had a 10lb 4oz, 24" baby.

Ok, who's going to beat that? Come on, bring it!
Old 05-07-2008, 07:00 AM   #4
Jennifer Conlin

Profile:

Get someone to coach you in Deadlifts! They work wonders!! Truly they do! They make that Pelvic Floor get really strong!