CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 12-27-2005, 03:58 PM   #1
Jeremy Jones

Profile:
I cannot get hungry anymore.

This isn't really an injury (I don't think), but I don't know where else to post this. Web MD wasn't able to provide any answers. I won’t be able to see a regular doctor for weeks (HMO).

Starting last Wed I woke up feeling full. No problem, I have been doing intermittent fasting for a few months anyway. "I'll skip breakfast" I thought. I did have a little eggnog in my chai tea (maybe 1 cup of 'nog).

Then I skipped lunch and dinner. I was suffering severe stomach cramps throughout the day, and they were only getting worse. The cramps were most likely due to a mild lactose intolerance I have. But I wasn’t hungry even if I didn’t have the pain, and I have never had cramps for 12 hours after having dairy. After not eating for more than 48 hours I started to get worried.

After conversing with the doctor on the phone, he convinced me to go to the ER to make sure I wasn’t in any danger (appendicitis (sp?) was the main worry). Docs in the ER couldn’t figure what was wrong, but they did give me an IV for fluids and determined that I wasn’t in any immediate danger.

It has been almost a week now, and I have been able to live with this. I have not had any major cramps since the first day (making me think that the pain was from the dairy). As long as I force myself eat small meals, I can function reasonably. Even through 3 family Christmas parties, I was not hungry and couldn't hardly eat. I am currently eating about 1/3 of what I was eating before (see: not enough).