CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 05-23-2010, 04:38 PM   #1
Jennifer Silveira

Profile:
Vegan Paleo

I'm new to CF and have been trying to eat paleo while sticking to my veganism. Does anyone else have experience with vegan paleo?

From what google tells me, anyone who has attempted and posted about it seems to give up (whether in posting about it or simply the diet itself, I can't be sure).

Thanks!
Old 05-23-2010, 04:58 PM   #2
Wayne Riddle

Profile:
Re: Vegan Paleo

Off hand it seems it would be real tough to meet your protein needs. Hopefully someone with experience in this area can offer some advice but I could see why people give up on it.
Old 05-23-2010, 05:03 PM   #3
Matthew Reilly

Profile:

How do you get any protein? Animal sources are obviously out of the question. Beans and soy aren't paleo. Did I overlook something?
Old 05-23-2010, 05:05 PM   #4
Steven Chicoine

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Reilly View Post
How do you get any protein? Animal sources are obviously out of the question. Beans and soy aren't paleo. Did I overlook something?
Nuts and seeds. A LOT of them. It seems like a very very hard ordeal.
Old 05-23-2010, 05:19 PM   #5
Eric Montgomery

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jennifer Silveira View Post
I'm new to CF and have been trying to eat paleo while sticking to my veganism. Does anyone else have experience with vegan paleo?

From what google tells me, anyone who has attempted and posted about it seems to give up (whether in posting about it or simply the diet itself, I can't be sure).

Thanks!
Are you ok with eggs from an ethical standpoint? If not I can't think of any ways to get sufficient protein unless you wanted to go with whey or something like this (WFS), although it's pretty pricey.