CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 08-07-2010, 07:13 PM   #1
Troy Vaillancourt

Profile:
Breakfast on the Zone

How important is breakfast while zoning? I know the book says to eat within an hour of waking, but I not hungry in the am.... should I suck it up or can I eat the blocks later in the day? thanks
Old 08-12-2010, 12:03 AM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Breakfast on the Zone

The book does say to eat within one hour.
Old 08-12-2010, 07:20 AM   #3
Jessica S Roberts

Profile:

I am by no means a Zone expert but from my personal experience, eating a great Zone breakfast sets the pace for me for the day. Breakfast is my most important meal. If you are not hungry first thing in the morning, try having a Zone snack for breakfast and a bigger lunch. That might work for you.
Old 08-12-2010, 07:39 AM   #4
Eric Montgomery

Profile:

Sears' books also say some stuff that plenty of others disagree with--i.e. don't eat more than 5 blocks in a single meal, don't go longer than 5 hours between a meal, try to eat 5 times a day, etc. Intermittent fasting works for plenty of people today and, from an evolutionary perspective, worked for humans for a few million years...those facts kinda debunk some of Sears' claims. The Zone is a good set of guidelines but don't feel like you have to be tied to it 100% for it to be effective.
Old 08-18-2010, 07:23 PM   #5
Troy Vaillancourt

Profile:

That is good advise and I have read about the benefits of IF'ing. Jessica I do like the idea of a smaller breakfast.

Do you think not eating breakfast would be a good thing to do a few times a week then?

Does anyone have some quick 2 block meal ideas?

Thanks
Old 08-19-2010, 10:57 AM   #6
Michael Boyarchuk

Profile: