CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 02-13-2008, 09:02 AM   #1
Keith Olson

Profile:
Elbow

I've recently returned from a short tour in Iraq where we did A TON of push ups. Like several sets of 50 spread through out the day, 5 days a week for several weeks. I've been home now for about three weeks and have noticed a steadly increasing pain in my left elbow right around the point where the forearm muscle attaches to the elbow, as seen on the inside when my palm is up (sorry don't know the correct physiology terms). The pain became apparent right after the Push Jerk WOD last week. I'm relatively new to Oly lifts, so I can't promise my form was ideal.

Does this sound something like tendonitis caused by all those push ups, or could I have hyperextended my elbow doing the push jerks? The timing makes it seem more like it's the push jerks, but is a hyperextension common?

Next question, of course is should I rehab it myself (and how), just rest it out, or go visit the Dr?

thanks,
Keith
Old 02-13-2008, 09:34 AM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Elbow

Can you get a picture with the area circled in like red or highlighted (just take one from google images or something).

Sounds like some sort of tendonitis though.

Rest, massage, ice after exercise, don't do anything to aggravate it... anti inflams, etc. are usually prescribed.
Old 02-13-2008, 10:41 AM   #3
Keith Olson

Profile:

http://www.golfers-elbow.com/images/...condylitis.jpg