CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 02-13-2007, 01:40 PM   #1
William Brownley

Profile:
Help from any diagnosticians out there, professional or amateur appreciated. I am new to cross fit and 50. I know a lot about knees, but I have never had a shoulder injury, despite playing rugby until age 48, at prop. I was doing dips and pull-ups. There was a gradual onset of pain. Now, range of motion does not seem to be limited or painful. Pull ups with palms facing are painful, but after warm up I can do them no problem. Dips, again are painful but after warm up no problem strength wise. Pullups with a standard overhand grip, no apparent pain. Pushups, no apparent pain. An occassional twinge when walking around, nothing I would notice. Reaching across my body and down, painful. Oddest of all, I go to sleep and eventually shoulder becomes very painful if I move in my sleep. Anybody have any ideas about what this is and how to treat it? I am not much for doctors unless surgery is necessary. I apologize for the length, thanks, Bill
Old 02-14-2007, 07:46 AM   #2
Craig Van De Walker

Profile:
amateur only

Sounds like you have a minor injury inflammation from overuse (ramping up work too fast) or possibly a small pull/tear.

I would treat it the same way if it were my shoulder (and it has been) take it easy on the workouts affecting your shoulder for awhile, ice after workout and in evening if irritated.

When I started doing crossfit my shoulders got somewhat hammered by the number of pullups I was doing but I acclimated.
Old 02-14-2007, 01:40 PM   #3
William Brownley

Profile:
Craig--thanks, I have been doing that plus using this stuff a friend gave me called Tiger Balm, which (although it stinks) seems do a great job of putting some heat on my shoulder. thanks again, Bill