CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 12-28-2009, 09:20 AM   #1
James Mullis

Profile:
Olympic Lifts

I've been crossfitting for about two months now and have fallen in love with olympic lifts. I remember seeing somewhere something about inserting an olympic lift into your warmup. Can someone point me in the right direction, or help me out. I think I'd like to do an OLY each day prior to the WOD but want more info. Any help?
Old 12-28-2009, 11:11 AM   #2
Nic Kirkland

Profile:
Re: Olympic Lifts

The Burgener Warm Up:

http://journal.crossfit.com/2007/01/...mike-burge.tpl
Please indicate whether your links are Work and Family Safe (WFS)
Old 12-28-2009, 11:46 AM   #3
Alex Bond

Profile:

If you really want to do Oly lifts, the Burg W/U won't be enough. Maybe you should consider doing the WODs from Catalyst Athletics (wfs) instead? It is olympic lifting programming with enough metcons mixed in that you won't lose too much metcon capacity. There will probably be a learning curve as you get used to the new exercises, but it sounds like more of what you are looking for.
Old 12-28-2009, 03:46 PM   #4
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:

Also, I would stay away from oly based metcons. You will most likely end up practicing bad form.
Old 12-28-2009, 11:27 PM   #5
James Mullis

Profile:

I really like the WODs and am seeing great results. I just want to add in more OLY to them. Can I just add in an OLY a day into my warmup?
Old 12-30-2009, 06:02 PM   #6
Ramon Gomez

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Mullis View Post
I really like the WODs and am seeing great results. I just want to add in more OLY to them. Can I just add in an OLY a day into my warmup?