CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 02-28-2006, 01:31 PM   #1
Daniel Miller

Profile:
Hello,
This is my first time posting and was wondering what people would say if I asked about determining whether I should be eating as a "small male", as a "hard-gainer", or as a “well-muscled”, "athletic male".
Let's see, I'm 26 5'8 around 145 and do WOD 3-5x per week. I'm an academic so spend most of my day reading or in class. I also climb at a climbing gym 3-5 days per week with varying intensity...meaning at times I've been training for bouldering competitions or a hard route while other times will just climb easy routes. I guess I would call myself an advanced level climber.
A 16 block meal plan would work well for me but I'd end up making up for it in a 2-3 cheat meals. My daily intake is around 16 blocks, which only equates to 1500-2000 calories per day. I'm wondering if I wouldn't see better performance by going up to 21 or even higher.

Ok, now for my second question. I have read about people making the claim that vegetables from the nightshade family cause inflammation. What is the biochemical/enzymatic validity of this?
I have experimented with the notion on my own and found that cutting out dairy and nightshade vegetables really had helped my recovery times, stiffness levels, and significantly reduced joint pains. Now, I want to know why.

Thanks in advance.
-Dan
Old 02-28-2006, 01:36 PM   #2
Daniel Miller

Profile:
oh yeah, regarding block advice,
I forgot to include my lean muscle mass and or body fat. Well, that is because I don't have any calipers.
Let's see...I'm satisfied with my aesthetic appearance and so care much more for function over form. I really don't know my % B.F except that I can pinch barely an inch.
Old 02-28-2006, 04:33 PM   #3
Garrett Smith