CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 09-30-2007, 11:23 PM   #1
Jon Knutsen

Profile:
Strength & Conditioning for High School Track

This spring I'll be heading into my third year as a high school jump coach for track and field. I've been using CrossFit workouts for the last two years and have seen some good success but it's always hard to tell if "something" is simply working because it's better than "nothing."

My dilemma is trying to balance consistency with variety and making sure that the overall program increases that which matters most - strength, speed, power, etc. Between plyos, powerlifts, oly lifts, metcon workouts, and sprint workouts, there's never a shortage of workouts to do and I find prioritizing to be tricky. Especially considering that most of the athletes can only lift three days a week in the off-season. For the last month I've been working with one athlete and we've followed the schedule below:

Mondays: CrossFit workouts (metcon driven)
Wednesdays: Olympic lifts and/or powerlifts (heavy)
Fridays: CrossFit workouts (metcon driven)

I know there are people with a lot more experience than myself when it comes to strength and conditioning programming and I would love to hear what they recommend. By the way, I know volumes could be written in response to this question but I'm not expecting that from anyone. Simple suggestions will be fine to get the ball rolling. Thanks in advance.
Old 10-01-2007, 01:17 AM   #2
Brian Degenaro

Profile:
Re: Strength & Conditioning for High School Track

Create your own Crossfit workouts taylored for jumping (include box jumps w/multi response, bounding for distance, sprints, med balls, metcon, etc) along with using the WODs that are "power" based (Elizabeth, Isabel).