CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-10-2005, 12:13 PM   #1
Gerald Weiss

Profile:  
Or even in such a facility-- are running portions done on a treadmill? How does that work with 15 people all working out at the same time, with a 'for time' element? What about workouts such as 'Linda'-- need benches for everyone?

I guess in a nutshell my question is how to coordinate the various parts of the workout.

There's no CF facility conveniently nearby-- I'm trying to make do with the college weight room I've been working out at for the last several years, but the whole timing thing is screwing me up. First there's the need for bench/cage availability. Then there's the running aspect-- the track is approx a quarter of a mile from the weight room-- not a problem wrt to getting there, but the distances get screwed up.

I tried searching for a relevant thread but found nothing. Thanks for any suggestions.
Old 08-10-2005, 12:41 PM   #2
William Hunter

Profile:
Hey Gerald, first off...welcome.

The workout locations CF'ers use is as varied as the workouts themselves. I would guess that the vast majority of us do not have access to a pure CF facility. You can still get the "flavor" without being exact.

Running- If there's a t-mill nearby the weights or pullup bar then I'd use it. Most runs that occur within a WOD are 400m to 800m. Running half way to the track and back would be a good sub for a 400, and running all the way to the track and back would be your 800.

Benches- These actually don't come up often. Linda and Lynne are the two you'll see most often. I work out in my basement w/o a bench or rack. The barbell just sits on the ground...waiting for me. For bench I sub weighted dips or weighted pushups, or clapping pushups.