CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 06-24-2014, 01:51 PM   #1
Pedro Farah

Profile:
Clean Form Check

Hi, I would love to get some pointers on my form.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaEmWYXZh9E (wfs)

This is my first attempt at a 1x bodyweight clean. It is 165 lbs and my personal best is 145 lbs. This is not my best form, but it representes well the problems I run into when tryin to clean more than 145. I feel I should be able to get this already - the bar seems to fly high enough... Can anyone help?

Thanks
Old 06-24-2014, 02:07 PM   #2
David Meverden

Profile:
Re: Clean Form Check

Do you have a video of a heavy successful clean? There are obviously things going wrong here that we can help with but we can give you better advice if we can see what it looks like when the whole thing doesn't fall apart. Info on your lifts might also be helpful (how much do you front squat?).
Old 06-25-2014, 09:56 AM   #3
Keith Miller

Profile:

Although it's somewhat difficult to critique from the front view you provided, I do see a couple things you need to work on.

First, your hips are rising faster than your shoulders, this is a no-no. Sit your butt down and push with your legs. This leads me to error #2 - you're jerking the bar off the ground, not smoothly. Set your back, and use your legs and hips like you're pushing the ground away from you. You don't really set your back from what I can see, so you need to work on that.
Old 06-25-2014, 12:07 PM   #4
Pedro Farah

Profile:

Here's a better view of a successful clean (135#):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hxfKwGyCZ4 (wfs)

Some of my current 1RMs:

Back Squat - 220 lbs (belted)
Front Squat - 190 lbs (belted)
Deadlift - 250 lbs (belted)
Bench - 155 lbs
Press - 115 lbs

Thanks!

Edit