CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 11-11-2007, 11:31 AM   #1
Xavier Iturriagagoitia

Profile:
Elbow injury...I am clueless

Last year (8 months ago) I had an elbow injury due to overtraining (especially due to exagerated forearm training, many plyo push ups &pull ups and climbing indoors, also some weight lifting).

Everywhere I would put pressure on, it hurt (except triceps-side) so I went to see a doctor. So the doc told me I "overloaded" my elbow and needed therapy.
I got some therapy: basically I had to work my biceps non-stop on machines.
Then I started lifting (I started again with only the bar and now 4 months later I am back at 50 kg).

No pain from lifting AT ALL. But as soon as I do plyos, pull ups, push ups, endurance training, climbing or chop wood the pain comes back. But after 1 day it's gone already.
Pain is exagerated...if I push on some spots I get pain and the whole inside of my elbow feels really sore then.

Any ideas?

Yea...I know my post is a bit confusing
Old 11-11-2007, 03:08 PM   #2
Allan Luomala

Profile:
Re: Elbow injury...I am clueless

Xavier, I have the same problem, based on your description (inside part of arm, at elbow, very sore to the touch, hurts to do pullups primarily). It was "diagnosed" (I use the term loosely, as it was a General Practitioner, not a sports medicine expert who gave me the diagnosis) as golfers elbow, and I was advised to use those arm supports that provide pressure to the area below it (toward the wrists). It works, somewhat, but not really.