CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-24-2007, 04:46 AM   #1
Ryan Scott

Profile:
All,

I am new to Crossfit, and in a way new to working out. I have been out of the gym for about 6 years. I gained a lot of weight and finally decided I was going to do something about it. I have been following the Crossfit 3-on 1-off rooutine for about 2 weeks and I feel like I am getting weaker.

A good example is, I used to be able to blow through my warmup (20-25min Cardio, 3x10 Dumbell bench 70lbs, 3x10 Pulldowns 165lbs, 3x10 situps) Now my warmup is starting to seem like a workout by itself.

Is it normal to feel weaker before you hit your stride and start feeling the positive effects of Crossfit?

Thanks,
Ryan.

One more thing that might also impact my performance is I am trying to stick to a 2000cal a day diet.
Old 04-24-2007, 05:30 AM   #2
Frank DiMeo

Profile:
Ryan, welcome to CrossFit!
Make sure you've got enough "fuel in the tank" to get through your week.
Your body is probably a little shocked at what you are putting it through right now, give yourself some time to adjust.
Old 04-24-2007, 09:46 AM   #3
Connie Morreale

Profile:
sounds like you are not getting adequate recovery. either scale the wod or take more recovery time. even though you are not new to working out you are new to this approach. adaptation can take several weeks.
Old 04-24-2007, 02:56 PM   #4
Leah Turner

Profile:
what do the 2000 calories/day consist of? Perhaps you should post YOur diet and specs and some wiser people here can see if diet is part of the problem.
Old 04-24-2007, 06:10 PM   #5
Jason Lopez-Ota

Profile:
I think it's your recovery as well. Try to get at least 8 hours of sleep in a dark, quiet room, eat healthy, etc.
Old 04-24-2007, 07:04 PM   #6
Ryan Scott

Profile: