CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 06-30-2010, 10:44 PM   #1
Jared Pietras

Profile:
Jump Rope Help

Hey CF, I've been doing CF for 3 years now but I don't think I've managed to post anything here yet! Anyway I've searched for suggestions, but I can't find any. I just bought a new jump rope for double unders because my gym didn't have any. While doing double unders yesterday it snapped. Got a replacement today and it snapped too! It's not that it's cheap either. I can tell what is causing it though. The rope itself is getting twisted and eventually snapping. I don't have a problem doing double unders, but I need a solid rope that will not break or twist up. Does anyway have any suggestions? Price is not really an issue as long as it's good. Thanks.
Old 07-01-2010, 02:39 AM   #2
Victor Putz

Profile:
Re: Jump Rope Help

I went through a cheapie speed rope (snapped) and was a sucker for a Buddy Lee (handles cracked around the rope attachments).

I could always just get another cheap speed rope, but I'd rather get something that lasted. So I got duvide's cheapest rope, the ds; it's $33 and built like the tank of jumpropes; the handles are solid, the bearings are smooth with no give or flex, and the "rope" has some mass. It's not as fast as a speed rope, but it's fast enough for me to do good quick skipping, double-unders, and a few tricks.

If I was doing it again I miiight consider their dsV for about $10 more, a little faster. But the ds is a great rope. It IS much heavier than a cheap speed rope (and my upper body gets tired faster) but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I love it and it's been pretty darn durable.

http://duvide.com (WFS)