CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 08-15-2009, 06:51 PM   #1
Brian Adams

Profile:
Squat Stance - Wide or Narrow?

It feels natural for me to set my stance really wide on squats. When I try to come in closer my tendency is to lean on my toes and fall forward. Is a wider stance okay?

I also have no idea what is meant by the "knees track out over feet". What's meant by this and how do you control it?

A third question I've read to lower with hips rather than bend with knees. How do you lower your hips without bending your knees?

Last edited by Brian Adams : 08-15-2009 at 07:11 PM.
Old 08-15-2009, 06:58 PM   #2
Dan Andrews

Profile:
Re: Squat Stance - Wide or Narrow?

Im no lifting expert, but especially in power lifting a wide stance is heavily preferred, atleast by Dave Tate, cant say a ton for others, id say going wide is fine as long as your still getting the ROM your looking for.
Old 08-15-2009, 08:41 PM   #3
Michael Ingley

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Adams View Post
It feels natural for me to set my stance really wide on squats. When I try to come in closer my tendency is to lean on my toes and fall forward. Is a wider stance okay?

I also have no idea what is meant by the "knees track out over feet". What's meant by this and how do you control it?

A third question I've read to lower with hips rather than bend with knees. How do you lower your hips without bending your knees?
if it feels natural for you and you can get the proper ROM go for it, and with the hips thing I would say that some people start the squat with bending their knees, you need to move your hips down and out before the knees.
Old 08-15-2009, 10:19 PM   #4
Randy Hill

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Adams View Post