CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 08-11-2009, 07:45 AM   #1
Nadia Madden

Profile:
Paleo + Ramadan?

Hey:

I'm new to paleo, and loving it! just wondering if anyone has done paleo during Ramadan before(or IF with a similar schedule), and how they deal with a) the fasting, and b) the cultural pressures to eat non-paleo foods and such.

for the fasting:
What do you eat for breakfast to keep going throughout the day? How about nights?

For the cultural stuff, my family is S. Asian, and evening meals involve extended family + friends getting together for traditional high-carb meals like rotis, samosas, daals, meat and potato curries, and tons of rice. I'm wondering if anyone has tips on paleofying these kinds of foods so that I can make them to share with others. My brothers are diabetic so I think it would be good for them anyhow.

for example, a traditional breakfast food is toasted vermicelli noodles with milk, sugar, cardamon and almonds. I'm going to try making a similar version with spaghetti squash, coconut milk, and a few dates.
Old 08-11-2009, 12:36 PM   #2
Frank E Morel

Profile:
Re: Paleo + Ramadan?

Ramadan Kreem

You may want to have a read of the last years thread about ramadan and crossfit.

http://www.board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=36380 wfs

you may want to email osman... later on he emailed me to say that he ended up eating heavier during his break fast and last meal to offset problems.

hope it helps
Old 08-11-2009, 02:45 PM   #3
Tom Woodward

Profile:

Not exactly a response to your question, but thought this may be helpful to you. Mehdi over at stronglifts writes about lifting and maintaining muscle during Ramadan

http://stronglifts.com/ramadan-weigh...scle-lose-fat/ (WFS)
Old 08-16-2009, 08:16 AM   #4
Kulsoom Ahmed

Profile: