CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 05-15-2004, 12:14 PM   #1
gordon mckendry

Profile:  
I have read about box squats, primarily information out of Louie Simmons' camp, and I'm confused. They say to sit "back and down," but such a motion, at least as I conceptualize it, would lead necessarily to falling backwards on to your ***. Can anyone explain what I'm missing?

And more generally, any thoughts on the usefulness of box squatting?

Thanks
Old 05-18-2004, 09:44 AM   #2
Barry Cooper

Profile:
Gordon,

I'm no expert, but no one else is picking this up. The first thing to note is that Powerlifters squat differently than non-Powerlifters. The goal of the event is to put a bar on your back, get your thighs to parallel, and then back up. So they shorten the path as much as possible by adopting a wide stance and a flat back, and sitting back. I'm not a powerlifter, so I may be missing something, but I've been shown by guys squatting in the 600's what they do. It's almost like the bar goes down by the butt going back. Within that context, sitting back and down makes perfect sense.

As far as the utility of box squatting, all I can say is they wouldn't do it if it didn't work. As I understand it, the goal is to deload your legs and back, so that you have to reload it fast to make it out of the hole. You remove the stretch reflex. I think.
Old 05-18-2004, 09:59 AM   #3
Matt Toupalik

Profile:
gordon-I had some coaching last year in the box squat from a couple buddies back in Phoenix who were competative powerlifters.The way they taught me was when referring to the "sit down and back" you mimic the motion used as if you were going to sit down on the toilet.