CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-30-2010, 11:09 AM   #1
Josh Hanlon

Profile:
Flexability

I am new to crossfit and I love it. I have been working out for the past 14 years and this has really helped recharge me.

However, after my years of conventional lifting and neglecting stretching I mainly noticed that I have very poor flexibility, mainly in my shoulders. I have a lot of problems doing overhead squats, clean and jerk, etc. I cannot get the weight to a good position behind my head.

Are their any good exercises I can do or ways to stretch to help with this?
Old 01-30-2010, 12:15 PM   #2
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:
Re: Flexability

Shoulder dislocates.
Old 01-30-2010, 01:12 PM   #3
Jeremy Konieczny

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie J. Skibicki View Post
Shoulder dislocates.
Yeah I totally agree. I feel like I just need to rip my shoulder out of socket a few times, then tear my rotator a bit, and maybe I will be able to get my arms to go back at -30deg like most are doing.
I have asked about this subject before on here and all I got back was people telling me hamstring flexibility. Well, yes I guess that can help but it's not a matter of getting low; I can get my butt to touch the ground squatting. It is a matter of getting my shoulders to somehow go in the unnatural position, 4 feet behind my head.
I asked like 6 months ago, and I still can't do overhead squats. Couldn't finish the workout today only got 5 sets done with a measly 65lb and am more frustrated than when I couldn't do one muscle up when they wanted 3 sets of 7 and something else. I should have just done the 95lb and skipped the overhead squats.
Old 01-30-2010, 01:42 PM   #4
Jeremy Konieczny

Profile: