CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 05-20-2003, 06:04 PM   #1
David Heyer

Profile:
I am a physical education teacher, a martial arts instructor and a newly converted crossfit follower.

I have been teaching for many years and I have observed a few things about MOST people that I would like to share.

1. PEOPLE ARE LAZY! Given the choice between working out hard or taking the easy way out, 90% will go with the easy way.

2. PEOPLE ARE SUCKERS! They will believe in and purchase any exercise equipment/supplement/etc. if some buffed guy is pictured using it.

3. PEOPLE CARE MORE ABOUT THEIR LOOKS THAN THEY CARE ABOUT ATHLETIC PERFORMANCE/HEALTH & FITNESS.
The kids in my class ONLY want to know how to get ripped and couldn't care less that they could hurt themselves in the process. Many even resort to using steroids. Knowing full well that they are illegal and dangerous.

4. PEOPLE ARE PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY WEAK! They quit when it starts to hurt/discomfort sets in. My P.E. students talk tough, but are a bunch of slackjaws when they try and keep up with the old man.

5. PEOPLE THAT FOLLOW CROSSFIT ARE PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY SUPERIOR TO 90% OF THE POPULATION.
The 10% would be for the athletic freaks of nature.

Any thoughts?

Old 05-21-2003, 07:44 AM   #2
SHANE WERNER

Profile:

David,

i agree with you on all points, however

1.PEOPLE ARE LAZY. i think genetically humans like most animals were ment to use their energy spurtingly, look at wild cats, they sleep around 17 hours a day. however humans have reached a point in habitat domination were the only spurting is done when we drink our cola to fast