CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-17-2008, 01:57 PM   #1
Caitlin McDonald

Profile:
squishy lady starting xfit

Hey everyone, I'm new to crossfit, and luckily an affiliate just opened way up here in Bismarck, ND. I am about 60 lbs over weight, and my cardio endurance is pretty pathetic. I'd like to hear from people who started xfit as non-athlete outta-shapes like me. Sometimes it seems like a lot of what I read here is from people who started xfit after already building up some fitness. I'm not discouraged but sometimes I feel out of my league!
Old 06-17-2008, 02:24 PM   #2
Camille Lore

Profile:  
Re: squishy lady starting xfit

Does about 40 lbs overweight count? I did martial arts once a week, but I was severely out of shape. I started with the buttercup level of the BrandX workouts www.crossfitbrandx.com (WFS)
The workouts for each day are here: http://www.crossfitbrandx.com/index..../viewforum/16/ (WFS)

Start at buttercup and do what you can. Also, nutrition is key. Try not to eat junk and if you're feeling adventurous, check out the Zone and Paleo ways of eating.

Good luck!
Old 06-17-2008, 02:24 PM   #3
Jerry Maestas

Profile:

If an affiliate just opened up then the best thing is to go there and have them scale the workouts for you so that you can progress into the full program. I was living in Cheyenne, WY. and there was no affiliate there, so I worked my way up for 5 months before jumping in to crossfit. The affiliate should be able to help you out a lot and you will grow by leaps and bounds! Welcome!

P.S. I was 35 lbs heavier when I started and had a 38" waist. I am down to a 29" waist now. The hard work does pay off!
Old 06-17-2008, 02:32 PM   #4
Jennie Yundt

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caitlin McDonald View Post