CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 07-10-2005, 10:08 AM   #1
Clifton E. Volatile

Profile:  
Hi all, I'm new to CF I guess, i've only been doing it for about 6 weeks. It's been great so far but I'm afraid my initial gains have been more of me getting neorologically efficient rather than conrete gains. I read that athletes use 25% of their muscle fiber but after crossfit and body weight exercises you can get upt to 50-60%.

My question is would I benefit more from a weightlifting/weight-gain program to increase my bulk muscle fiber before going back to crossfit to become more efficient?
Old 07-10-2005, 03:33 PM   #2
David Wood

Profile:

Hello Clifton, welcome to CrossFit!

You don't say much about yourself, so I don't think anyone can answer you realistically.

But, it probably doesn't matter . . . unless you're painfully, anorectically thin (6'3" and 100 pounds, say), you're pretty much only going to get one answer here: Do the WOD (making adaptations as necessary).

(Oh, and follow the Zone diet, too . . . I guess that's two recommendations).

CrossFit will definitely improve your muscle "skill" (or efficiency), but the experience of hundreds of people will tell you that over time it will also build quite a bit of muscle mass, too.

Note, however, that if your goal is to look like one of the models in the "bodybuilding" magazines, this is the wrong program. If you'd like to be much stronger than you look, you've come to the right place.
Old 07-10-2005, 05:32 PM   #3
Clifton E. Volatile

Profile:  
I'm 17 I'm 6'1" 165 lbs.