CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-04-2003, 09:34 AM   #1
Daniel Ramos

Profile:
This is a question for Coach or anybody else who is interested in giving their oppinion.

Ok, here is the deal. I started crosfit around 6-8 weeks ago to help with my conditioning for combat sports (Judo and Sanshou). I had recently become obcesed with them and was fine in the strenth and flexibility departments but seriously lacked the ability to keep my heart from exploding during sparing. In this aspect the crossfit program has worked wonders, to the point that even the my training partners have notice my increased "wind".

Now here is my dilema... For the whole time I have been training crossfit and for two months before that because of a knee injury I have not done any serious olimpic lifting. The martial arts training and the injury had kinda redirected my attention, but recently (watching the Titan games on ESPN) I remembered that there is a meet in September I would love to compete in.

Now the problem is how do I prepare for this meet while doing crossfit? At first I thougt that I would just keep doing crossfit and leave the specific training for the last 6-8 weeks. But a dissapointing performance in last the press test (used military press instead of bench press) made me rethink this (maybe I need to get more specific). So now my idea is to maybe add some sport practice to my crossfitign just like I practice my MA's. Maybe 5-10 singles at 60-80 percent of each lift before the crossfit workouts. Not to taxating and could be done 3 days a week. On top of my 3-4 crossfit workouts and my 2-3 MA workouts.

Any how, this is my dilema
any oppinions apreciated

Daniel
Old 04-04-2003, 09:42 AM   #2
Daniel Ramos

Profile: