CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Equipment
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment Outfitting a serious gym. Vendors & suppliers. Devices & equipment

Old 10-16-2013, 07:20 PM   #1
Dave Taylor

Profile:
Romaloes 2 vs Lifter Plus

I am looking at getting a new set of Oly shoes. I have been rocking pendaly Do-Wins for a couple years and was looking at these 2 options.

My wife as the normal lifters and loves them and she can do alot more than I can but what do you guys think about these 2 options and what is the pros and cons.

Thanks
Old 10-17-2013, 09:29 AM   #2
Jason Fischer

Profile:
Re: Romaloes 2 vs Lifter Plus

I went from Do-Wins to Romeleos 2's and the difference was night and day in stability. They are too heavy and stiff to use in workouts with box jumps, double unders or any kind of running, but for squatting and for olympic lifting I suspect they are pretty tough to beat (I haven't tried any other lifting shoe from Reebok, Adidas, Inov8, etc). I love mine.
Old 10-17-2013, 09:42 AM   #3
Jeff Enge

Profile:

Reeboks (and Inov8s for that matter) are hybrid shoes. They aim to give you the raised heel and a little extra stability but also let you do other CF movements besides lifting.

Romaleos (and Do-Wins, Pendlays, Adidas, etc) are pure lifting shoes. They are meant to be stiff and stable to the point that doing things that involve lots of flex to the sole (box jumps, running, jump rope, etc) are actually bad for the shoes.

If you want to weightlift seriously (that is, not just in WODs or once a week), get yourself a nice pair of the latter. If your squatting movements are just done in MetCons with other types of movement or you really don't want a specialty shoe, you might look at the former.
Old 10-17-2013, 10:01 AM   #4
Jason Newland

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Enge View Post