CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 03-04-2008, 11:23 PM   #1
Jason Wade Bumba

Profile:
Beginner

Hello! I have read and learned ALOT on this site, but it is FULL of info. I assimilate as much of it as I can, but I am still learning. It is funny that every time I think I know something about fitness I am proven wrong. I am not new to training and I am a bit of a nutrition fanatic (extreme Paleo). I have SO many fitness goals it is hard to name them all, and CF fits in well with my workout ADD. Every time I see someone do something I can't it makes me want to do it. For now though let's just pick my main two goals:

1. Gain lean muscle mass so I look better naked. (I gained more weight in the past on Supersquats than anything and would love to do it again, but although I can squat there is no proper rack in case I pass out or throw up doing the 20 rep squats. Anyone who has ever done them at full intensity knows what I mean for sure.)
2. Get in better overall shape with some specific goals for myself such as one arm chins, etc (I have made fairly good progress on this, but like I said....workout ADD).

I am in great shape compared to the average Joe and in terrible shape compared to the nasty girls (wherever you are thanks to all of you for making me feel inadequate which inspires me). I can do a chin with 70lbs around my waist (I weigh 150 soaking wet), an ugly one arm pushup, dead about 285 on a good day (last time I checked-my cheap bar snapped a while back.), pistols with about 50lbs, etc. My metcon is not so good right now as I despise conditioning. Anyway here is what I am going to do (unless someone has a better idea).