CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-14-2009, 10:49 AM   #1
Jeff S Johnson

Profile:
Right way to proceed?

Background: I'm 36 and have been CrossFitting since mid-September. I've been working out in various ways for about 3 years now.

My question pertains to nutrition plans.

Since I pulled my head out of my rear 5 years or so ago and started paying attention to my weight and eating, I've fluctuated between 150 and 185. The 150 came from strict dieting, working out a lot and an unhealthy borderline obsession with seeing my abs for the first time in my adult life (didn't get to a full six-pack, for the record). In retrospect, it's clear that I hadn't built enough muscle mass to accomplish that goal and I wasn't going about it the right way either. The 185 came from a combination of adding muscle mass AND slacking on my food intake (and especially beer). Currently, I'm around 178 with about 16-17% bodyfat.

Since taking up CF again 4 months ago, I've dropped little weight, but a measurable amount of fat. At one point, my weight was unchanged, but waist measurement was down 1".

Getting around to my point....with the new year, I've decided I want to attack the extra padding specifically. Without fail, the advice I've read here is "eat for performance and the rest will come." To me, that's exactly what I want to do by dropping the extra 15 or so pounds of lard I'm carrying around. I cannot help but think that any WOD involving bodyweight exercises will be greatly improved at 160-165 pounds versus 180-185, as will my running, or any WOD based on % of bodyweight. I can't figure many WOD's where extra the extra 3+" around my waist is anything but a hinderance?