CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-11-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
Peter Tourigny

Profile:
Is phosphagen system the primary system of crossfit training?

Hello,

I am new to crossfit and I am confused by a few things. I read the Oct 2002 crossfit journal "What is Fitness"? and it seemed to promote spending most of your workout time training the phosphagen system as this will build not only anaerobic but also aerobic capacity. This works out great for me as I play beach volleyball which is a phosphagen dominant sport. It recommends interval training as a way to increase the cardio system "without an unacceptable loss of speed, power and strength". It then outlines that to control being in the phosphagenic pathway the guideline is to spend 10-30 seconds of work to 30-90 seconds rest, a 1:3 ratio. It shows a nice chart on top of pg 5. But then it lists an example of the a regularly used interval training called the Tabata Interval which works for 20 seconds and then rests for 10 seconds??? This is a 2:1 ratio. I also see other examples of blowing through many sets of different exercises with no rest. The article mentions to "strive for variance" ...don't subscribe to high reps, low reps, high rest, low rest, etc. Is this consistent with primarily building the phosphagen system?

Variations are endless by substituting different exercises, order of exercises, supersetting exercises together, alternating the amount of each set (work) between 10-30 seconds by changing the weight (adjusting the rest by the 3:1 ratio), etc. BUT all variations would still leave the same work to rest ratio of 1:3 wouldn't it?

This morning I did this crossfit workout with a crossfit trainer instructing me:

crossfit warmup and technique instruction

400 meter run