CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 11-20-2010, 08:08 AM   #1
Keith Martin

Profile:
Transition from Trainer to Affiliate

Here's the deal: I've been doing CF for 3 1/2 yrs. I started showing my friends what I've learned and helping them for about year. I am going to L1 Certification next month to be a trainer (confidence). How did those who may have gone this route transition from trainer to affiliate owner (which is what I plan to do)?

I've read on the boards that just because you become L1 certified, it doesn't necessarily qualify you to open an affiliate. So at what point do you realize it's time to do so? How many "man hours" should you put in to earn the "right" even though you are eligible after getting your L1 Cert?

My desire is not to be a paper L1 trainer (comes from paper MSCE from my IT background). What do you do?
Old 11-20-2010, 06:07 PM   #2
Brian Strump

Profile:
Re: Transition from Trainer to Affiliate

Keith,

IMO, most affiliates just get their L1, with no prior training knowledge, or educational background(schooling, or books) and have opened affiliates. That's the bad news. I've been to some affiliates that I could not believe their doors were still open. Either lacked professionalism, business acumen, and/or training knowledge.

Only you'll know when you're ready. If you don't want to be a "paper trainer", continue your education. CrossFit certs, and search outside of CrossFit for information. There's ALOT of information out there, classes to take, seminars, etc.

Find a mentor(not necessarily CrossFit affiliate, business in general) ask questions, learn from their mistakes, mimick their successes. Train them for free, in return for their advice.