CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 02-07-2008, 12:13 AM   #1
Shawn Hansen

Profile:
Help with OH squat form....

...or any OH exercise that requires bending at the knees.

Let me preface this by saying im not really looking for someone to hold my hand and tell me what to do. Ive been working out consistently for ~5 Years now, my weight has ranged between 220-297 lb. bf between 14-20. I consider my form to be better than average on just about most exercises. The problem is ive never done Oly lifts really. When i have to overhead squat, or as an example do dumbell snatches like in "Joshie", i cant seem to keep my balance to be able to bend my knees enough to squat. I practiced a lot since i was miserable at it, and as far as i can see, the problem im having is flexibility in my shoulders. I cant hold them up in the air and BEHIND my head. They just want to come forward, i couldnt even force it. This causes my center of gravity to fall forward, and thus im unable to complete the movements.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is it as simple as just finding some good shoulder stretches and doing them consistently until i have the range of motion? CF has humbled me in a big way, i dont mind having to use low weights, as long as im pushing myself. Im not competing with anyone else in the gym but me, but damn do i hate having to figure out alternative exercises.

Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance...

-Shawn
6'4" 220lb

p.s. Any tall lifters out there figure out a way to increase pull up strength relatively quickly? Im gettin stronger, but it just seems so slow for me. my legs are a dominant part of my body, so its a lot of dead weight haha. Wide grips are all but impossible for more than a few reps max (non kip).