CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 08-17-2007, 11:57 AM   #1
Nadia Shatila

Profile:
Hello!

I am getting ready to venture into the world of personal training. Right now I am keeping my full time job, but training clients in the evenings at the gym I have been a member at for 3 years. I'm hoping that some of the trainers out there could offer up some tips, advice or do's and don'ts?! I'm completely new to this (I got NASM certified a few moths ago, and going for my CF cert next month) and am nervous, as I want to do a good job. I am passionate about fitness and really want to make a difference in peoples lives. I am always pushing myself to the limit fitness wise, but I do understand that is not what others might want. How do you know if you are pushing someone too hard or not hard enough? Is this something that comes with time?

Also, any suggestions on how to ease people into CrossFit style training? The first clients I am getting are coming from a trainer who is leaving, and from what I can tell they mostly did machine based training and some circuits. I've already had trainers at my gym tell me how unsafe CrossFit is specifically kipping pull-ups, deadlifts, and even box (bench) jumps! I've tried to explain the reasoning behind CrossFit, to no avail. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section, not sure if it goes in community or fitness.

Thanks!
Nadia
Old 08-17-2007, 12:54 PM   #2
Craig Brown

Profile: