CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 04-07-2007, 09:26 PM   #1
Kris Ljunggren

Profile:
First off hello everyone, I'm Kris. I'm a Marine Officer Candidate from Austin, TX. A buddy from my plt emailed me the article on USMC and functional fitness and a link to crossfit and I've been hooked ever since.

I'm starting to run a T/Th evening program of workout and class instruction for the candidates, both to get ahead and relearn stuff. We've got one 'PT Candidate' running basically a 3mi circuit in the mornings of MWF (.25mi stops for exercises)... but I wanna do some functional stuff for them. My basic plan is to workout everything as much as possible, with maybe a little more focus on upper body (for the PFT) and a little more running involved. I will be incorporating at the very least Cindy and Chelsea every now and then, plus some 'knock-yourself-out' circuit stuff.

THis is what I ran the other day as a trial run... felt like my heart was gonna pound through my chest. 3 rounds in Boots and utes btw...
400m run
20 crunches
5 jumping pullups
7 pull ups/chin ups
5 knee to elbow
30 pushup
50m sprint
20 box jumps
50m sprint
30 squat
100m "I'm up, they see me, I'm down" slides*
200m run
3min rest

Ended with Marine upper body development: Decline ladder
15 pullups
30 pushups
10 pullups
25 pushups
8 pullups
20 pushups

* Sprint enough to say to yourself "I'm up, they see me"... Slide on your knees long enough to say "I'm down"... get back up and repeat

It's probably obvious that I'm new at forming these workouts... so I would definitely appreciate any advice.