CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 09-14-2007, 02:40 AM   #1
Shane Upchurch

Profile:
Returning back pain

ive had this back pain in my right lower back for nearly two years now and just when I think im rid of it, it returns. Im trying to decide if I should go so a phys therapist, again, or try a chiropractor. I like the phys therapist and she helped it for a while but she doesnt want me doing any squats or full situps or back extensions, and that just isnt going to happen. Im not sure if crossfit lifting is hurting it or just irritating an old injury. Im pretty sure it has something to do with flexibility, though I have been doing a series of stretches for about 3 months now twice a day to try and loosen up the hamstrings and hips, but it seems like when I get to parallel in the squat my hips just get really tight and if I try to go further, especially with weight, that is where the back pain comes into play. It never hurts during the workout only after.

So any suggestions? Chiro or PT?

Thanks
Old 09-14-2007, 08:41 AM   #2
Tim Newsome

Profile:
Re: Returning back pain

That sounds just like my back has been for a long time now (4 years?). Basically, if I don't work out at all then my back feels pretty good, but occasionally achy/tight. If I do work out regularly I'll inevitably hit a point where it really starts to hurt.