CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 08-13-2004, 09:09 AM   #1
elizabeth bradley

Profile:  
hi. ok, i've got my bar lubed up and my bumber plates. now,,,,I am learning olympic lifts via online videos and forums. however, it would seem that mistakes will be made and i really don't want to make a mistake that will result in teeth missing, scars, knee surgery, back problems and other things like that. i would really appreciate some input from people who did learn things the hard way and wish they could go back in time and not make that "one mistake". there has to be a few common ones and even some uncommon that complete newbies just can't predict. usually, they start something like this,,,,"well, this one time i did this and then the bar did that and it took me 4 months to recover........."

yes, i have done many searches and read many different forums and have many new links in my favorites, but nothing beats advice from someone with first hand experience who just went through the learning curve. obviously, a coach would be ideal but let's just say that is out of the question right now. cheers

oh, i also am going to post this in the techniques thread in case it is more applicable there
Old 08-13-2004, 10:05 AM   #2
Brian Hand

Profile:

Elizabeth, one thing I have noticed that isn't discussed much is learning to miss. Just like in judo they teach you to fall first, I think in weightlifting you ought to learn to miss first. This makes practice safer and gives you confidence.