CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-23-2013, 10:49 AM   #1
Jeff Higgins

Profile:
Lack of Motivation

I'm struggling...

I'm new to Crossfit and weigh 360lbs, which is not a good combination. Orientation was last Tuesday. I was pushing myself so hard (for me anyway), and then I ended up making a dumb mistake and straining my back. While that's healing quite quickly to my surprise, I'm losing motivation.

I'm kind of scared to go back. Scared of the pain, scared of the embarassment I feel inside when I can't do what I feel like I should be able to. The injury, I suppose I'm a little scared of reinjuring myself, but I can't blame it on that.

I think I'm just starting to get lazy again, and making up excuses. I feel like the laziest person on the planet.

I think I just need to get back tomorrow and get a workout in, maybe that will motivate me again...

It's just such a long road from 360lbs, it feels too overwhelming. Before a very bad snowmobile accident, I'd went from 330lbs to 215lbs and felt so great. I can't believe I've let myself fall this far.

I kind of feel like giving up, even though logically that's not the right thing, and it's not going to happen.

I'm just tired...I haven't been eating hardly any carbs either, which I probably should do to increase my mood. On top of all the other problems, I have bipolar and social anxiety disorders that make it that much tougher with moods and with convincing myself to go to the gym (lots of people, scary).

Anyway, I just figured I would get all this out somewhere, no one to talk to here except myself, figured I would just put it out there and see if it helped work through some of my issues...

Thanks if you've actually read this, you're a masochist for reading through the drivel, but I appreciate it!