CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 04-25-2008, 06:18 AM   #1
Melissa Urban

Profile:
OHS question - speed matters?

I am fairly new to OHS. I did them for the first time with weight on March 3rd, and I've only done three OHS workouts since. My form is still inconsistent, and I can't move much weight. (I max out at 65#.)

I overhead squat veeeery slowly. I go down slow, I pause at the bottom and I come back up only marginally faster. I go slow because (a) these intimidate the crap out of me for some reason, and (b) I'm trying really hard to make sure I can keep the bar where it needs to be, especially in the hole.

Am I doing myself a disservice by slowing down the pace so much? Considering making myself speed up the pace a little bit... but I'm not sure that won't be a total disaster. And I'm not sure I know how speed would matter.

Thoughts? Thanks.
Melissa
Old 04-25-2008, 07:53 AM   #2
Jake Oleander

Profile:
Re: OHS question - speed matters?

speed matters, strength plus speed = power. power is what we value in sports, CF, and life in general.
with that said, it is very difficult to show power with OHS, it will take a lot time developing the proper technique. balance is often a limiting factor in the OHS, and going slowly makes the balance easier. for now i wouldnt focus on speeding up, just keep working on them and the speed will come naturally with time.
Old 04-26-2008, 09:10 AM   #3
Kirez Reynolds

Profile:

You started March 3rd -- are you saying you haven't experienced significant changes since then? Like greatly increased confidence? Have you dumped yet doing OHS? Coincidentally, I started the same week you did doing OHS.