CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 07-25-2010, 09:59 AM   #1
David Guinn

Profile:
First post; Did the "Angie" today

The last three exercises I did as Rx'd (pushups, sit-ups, squats) but I must confess that for the pullups I used a weight-assist machine:

30 at 55# assist
10 at 65# assist
20 at 80# assist
20 at 90# assist
20 at 100# assist

I weigh 238. I just turned 48. I have been doing 5 x 5 compound movements for about 18 months and hit a plateau and hope that X-fit will bust me through this plateau (waste stopped shrinking)

I completed this in 45:01

This just seems so pathetic to me (the pullups). I can only do about 3-4 at body weight. I haven't yet tried the kippers.

Last edited by David Guinn : 07-25-2010 at 10:06 AM. Reason: age added
Old 07-25-2010, 11:15 AM   #2
Eric Montgomery

Profile:
Re: First post; Did the "Angie" today

Scale scale scale...ideally Angie should be a 15-25 minute workout. Check out BrandX (WFS) for scaled versions of each day's workout. Trying to do too much too soon is a good way to get hurt or have overtraining problems.

Where in Cary do you train? I grew up there but haven't lived there since 2000 and am always looking for a good gym when I come back home.
Old 07-25-2010, 01:37 PM   #3
Brent Eno

Profile:

Give it time and patience David. Especially patience. You can only improve from here.

Also, if your goal is to "shrink your waste", you need to really focus on your diet. Vegetables, lean meat, nuts, seeds, and some fruit. Nothing else. Good luck, and train hard.
Old 07-25-2010, 02:00 PM   #4
David Guinn

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Montgomery View Post