CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 01-17-2007, 11:37 AM   #1
Brian Wilson

Profile:
Hi all, first let me say thanks in advance for all the knowledgeable posters out there that have been helping anonymous Crossfitters like myself.

My question has to do with adding or substituting HIIT or Tabata workouts for the WOD in order to accomplish loss of body fat.

I've been doing Crossfit for 4 months now, and have seen a dramatic increase in strength, a significant increase in muscle mass, and just about no decrease in body fat (using tape measure and calipers).

I've looked around for some info on this and found Mark Mahler's High Octane Cardio (HOC) Articles:

http://www.testosterone.net/nation_articles/244high.jsp

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/mahler37.htm

And am excited to start. My plan right now is to do a WOD/WOD/HOC/active rest cycle.

My question is do I need to substitute HOC for a WOD? I don't think I could gut these out on an active rest day without suffering from overtraining.

The other option I'm looking at is WOD-Tabata sprints/WOD/WOD-tabata sprints/active rest.

Just wanted peoples thoughts on this plan. My diet is pretty good, a paleo/metabolic combo. I lost several pounds and bf% when I initially went on metabolic, but have gained a few pounds back as well as bf%.

Current stats:
male 28 yo
weight 220
bf 22%
Old 01-17-2007, 11:44 AM   #2
Jason Steele

Profile:
Brian-

Although you say that your diet is paleo/metabolic, provide some examples from your diet journal. When I went into a paleo diet hardcore I lost bodyfat rather rapidly while still gaining muscle and strength. Do you want to just look lean or actually have functional strength? I have done some of Mike's HOC, they look tame on paper...