CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 06-14-2006, 05:33 AM   #1
Jennifer Conlin

Profile:
Let me start by saying that I'm still pretty new to CF. With saying that I will also say that I have been very involved with fitness and exercise all my life. Not gyms, I've never been a gym person. I just started going to a gym 2 winters ago to deal with winter depression. Even then before knowing about CF what I did at the gym was very close to being CF.

I always try to involve others in my quest for fitness and being healthy.
So now I do CF. I just went on a family vacation and brought all my gear to workout with. Rings and KB's, jump rope so on.
My sister in-law really wanted to have me give her a workout. Cool! My desire is to train others so it's good hands on learning.
So, the workout that I do with her is mostly tabata. If I remember correctly it was 5 exercises 4 sets of 20 seconds on 10 off.
This is after a good amount of instruction. She has a personal trainer so she has some clue and works out 3 times a week.
We did dips, KB swings, knee to chin, push ups and air squats.
It was raining so we were not able to run. Our warm up was J-jacks and burpees. Before we even start she asked how many sets we will do. I said 4 for each exercise. "FOUR!! OMG your going to kill me!" I thought I was taking it easy on her.
We get done and she keeps saying "that was great I just need to get my 30 Min's of cardio in". Then she gets a DB and starts to do Biceps and triceps. She has this print out from her trainer and starts to do her reps asking me did we work this muscle and that muscle group. AAAH..yeah you worked them all I tell her. Also, I encourage her to just stop for now and see how you feel in the morning.