CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-18-2004, 01:32 PM   #1
Gordon Richmond

Profile:
I'm still very new to Crossfit. I did the workout of pull-ups and bodyweight squats, sandwiched between 800 meter runs. Needless to say, by the end of the workout, I was gassed. I can do about 3 palms facing away pullups and probably six palms toward me pull-ups, but after I did a few of these, all I could do was jump up to the bar and do negatives. I would have done assisted pull-ups, but I was at a playground instead of the gym.

The squats I made it through okay, stopping fairly frequently, but I got through each and every rep with pretty good form.

I have a few questions about how to proceed:
When it says 'Run 800 meters', does that mean all-out busting your ass? (Cause that's what I did...)
The air-squats burned my legs pretty good, so it was tough to jump up to do negatives for the pull-ups. In the future should I just decrease the number of reps, or replace the exercise with something else and do that 'grease the groove' with pull-ups that I've heard so much about?
My fitness level is certainly not extrordinary, so should I start out by taking it easier? Should I take more frequent rest days or charge ahead?

All in all, though I was disappointed about how far I have to go, but I felt very good about the fact that I did (more or less) complete what has definitely been the toughest workout of my short Crossfit career.
Old 07-18-2004, 02:29 PM   #2
Gordon Richmond

Profile:
Sorry, I meant to put this in the Starting section of the forum. (Crossfit newbie, what can I say...)
Old 07-18-2004, 05:05 PM   #3
Tyler Hass

Profile:
Don't worry about your starting point. Just work hard and the results will come.