CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 02-13-2012, 12:37 PM   #1
Meredith Launius

Profile:
degerative disc disorder

I have been crossfitting for several years. I own and operate an affiliate also. Recently I have been "diagnosed" with degenerative disc disorder from a chiro ( I do respect and trust this one, which is why I see him). In my previous life I was a hairdresser for 10 years, was active but didnt eat great and smoked ( yuck) for a long time.
I did have back pain while working in the salon, presumably from bad posture, standing, weak core, etc...that did improve as I got stronger, lost weight etc..but in the last year and a half my deadlift has gone from over 200 # to barely body weight due to pain when setting up in that position and a perceived weakness in my lift. Sometimes I just cant get tight enough to lift. My back squat has come down some and I have been increasingly stiff and sore in my back and hips. It is causing issues in my performance which I dont like at all! But also daily life, tying my shoe laces is sometimes difficult because of bending over uncomfortability.
I have iced, applied heat, mag baths, stretched, massaged, chiro adjusted, cussed, cried and had days where I felt fine. I eat rediculously well, sleep great and while I do have the stress of owning and operating a gym, I am having a hard time resolving that this is it.
I have researched disc disorder and it pretty much sums up my symptoms I am having a hard time finding credible recommendations for how to approach crossfitting with this disorder or if I even need to give in to it.
The research says no deadlifting, c&j, snatching or squating. Um, wtf. Yeah thats not gonna fly.