CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 12-13-2011, 02:37 PM   #1
Allison Robshaw

Profile:
Pain it top right glute-chronic

I have been crossfitting now for over two years but been a pretty active exerciser for 10. Since this summer I have developed pain in my right upper glute. Here is a little background....

I have a desk job. I know that sitting all day does not help my form so I try as much as I can to get up and walk around. I also stretch at my desk, after every WOD and on my off days. I pretty much live on my foam roller.

I know that I have weak glutes so I do basic exercises and stretching to help them. I will feel great for a couple days but then I go right back where I started.

I have been told that when I am doing anything weighted that I "lilt" to the left side. I have also tried certain stretching and exercises to correct that.

The pain feels like a knot and sometimes when I am laying down it will start to tingle in my right Quad. However; this is not all the time, and if I do some back stretching the tingling goes away.

Another odd thing that I have noticied...I row better using just my left leg than I do when I use both legs.

I have dropped weight, worked on form, taken time off, gotten massaged and anything else I can think of.

Has anyone experienced anything similiar or have any suggestions?
Old 12-13-2011, 09:34 PM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Pain it top right glute-chronic

Have you seen a physical therapist?

This may be an SI joint issue, especially if you developed the pain after a car crash, fall, or other impact type activity.
Old 12-15-2011, 06:46 AM   #3
Matthew Vesey

Profile: