CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2010, 11:24 PM   #1
Troy Becker
Member Troy Becker is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Reno  NV
Posts: 1,118
Setting up the bands

So, I did some measuring, and when I do a box squat, the bar is 3' off the ground at the bottom. Every band you can come across (except the shorts, which are too short) are 5" (because they're 41") too long to be taught at the bottom.

What's everyone's favorite solution for this?

When you only have a squat rack (no power rack or monolift around).
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 07:37 AM   #2
Daniel Higgins
Member Daniel Higgins is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arlington  MA
Posts: 242
Re: Setting up the bands

Hopefully Chris Mason can chime in here too.

You can double up the bands (if they're mini's) depending on how much is too much tension at the top. This also works if you are wrapping them around the safety pins which are 1-2 feet off the ground. You could also choke the bands around the bottom of the squat rack (where you're looping them) - just wrap them around a few extra times. Heavy dumbells can also be used if you can't wrap them around the squat rack frame. If you use heavy DB's its also nice because you can line the DB handle up parallel with the bar.

I've started using the EFS micro mini (orange) band for squatting and they work fine. Only maybe 30-40 lbs max at the top but thats probably fine for starting out. Just make sure theres band tension for the entire ROM.
__________________
Trying to get stronger...if I post inaccurate information, please correct me for the benefit of others and myself.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 07:52 AM   #3
Ben Moore
Member Ben Moore is offline
 
Ben Moore's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas City  MO
Posts: 593
Re: Setting up the bands

Typically you double the band over the bar which essentially cuts the length in half and allows for band tension throughout the movement. You can use plates, dumbells, or anything else heavy to anchor the bands down.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:32 AM   #4
Troy Becker
Member Troy Becker is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Reno  NV
Posts: 1,118
Re: Setting up the bands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Higgins View Post
Hopefully Chris Mason can chime in here too.

You can double up the bands (if they're mini's) depending on how much is too much tension at the top. This also works if you are wrapping them around the safety pins which are 1-2 feet off the ground. You could also choke the bands around the bottom of the squat rack (where you're looping them) - just wrap them around a few extra times. Heavy dumbells can also be used if you can't wrap them around the squat rack frame. If you use heavy DB's its also nice because you can line the DB handle up parallel with the bar.

I've started using the EFS micro mini (orange) band for squatting and they work fine. Only maybe 30-40 lbs max at the top but thats probably fine for starting out. Just make sure theres band tension for the entire ROM.
Is that 30-40 when doubled over?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:37 AM   #5
Tim Nakashima
Member Tim Nakashima is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bakersfield  CA
Posts: 712
Re: Setting up the bands

You can raise the rack up 1/2" or so and do a lark's foot around the base and attach the other end to the bar. That should take up most slack, if not, add a 2x4 for additional spacing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:00 AM   #6
Daniel Higgins
Member Daniel Higgins is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Arlington  MA
Posts: 242
Re: Setting up the bands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy Becker View Post
Is that 30-40 when doubled over?
No, single length around the bar and looped around the bottom of the rack 3 times.

30-40 is a very rough estimate of total tension, so 1/2 that for each side.
__________________
Trying to get stronger...if I post inaccurate information, please correct me for the benefit of others and myself.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 01:29 PM   #7
Troy Becker
Member Troy Becker is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Reno  NV
Posts: 1,118
Re: Setting up the bands

Cool, thanks everyone.

I was thinking about having some chains attached to the ground of, say, 1.5' in length, and using a short band that is only 1' long. That way it will be in tension constantly since at the bottom of the squat it will be stretched 6' already, and at the top it will be stretched 2.5'. The chains will always be taught since the band will always be stretched and pulling on it.

Creative genius or bad idea?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:41 PM   #8
Chris Mason
Banned Chris Mason is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlottesville  VA
Posts: 4,708
Re: Setting up the bands

This is how my training partner and I setup the bands with the crap rack we have at our local Gold's.

WFS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwMnjCuRTGk
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 11:23 PM   #9
Troy Becker
Member Troy Becker is offline
 
Profile:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Reno  NV
Posts: 1,118
Re: Setting up the bands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Mason View Post
This is how my training partner and I setup the bands with the crap rack we have at our local Gold's.

WFS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwMnjCuRTGk
I watched the link where you guys actually used them (dayam thats a lot of weight)- how tall are you two, and how high was the box?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 06:37 AM   #10
Scott Paltos
Affiliate Scott Paltos is offline
 
Scott Paltos's Avatar
 
Profile:
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Roseland  NJ
Posts: 184
Re: Setting up the bands

Troy,
Set two heavy dumbells on each side outside your rack (try to have the db total around 160lbs+ )

Loop the band through the handles and through...this will tighten the band naturally

Pop the band on the bar...and get going. This will add tension at the bottom as well.

If you are looking for more tension...add another band.

Remember it's accommodating resistance you are looking for...the bottom should not have nearly as much tension as the top...you want gradual increase at your strongest range.

Good luck,
SP
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New - setting expectations Joshua Boyd Starting 8 07-09-2010 09:36 AM
Goal Setting Emily Seabridge Fitness 6 04-19-2010 07:58 AM
Medical Bands/stretch bands/jump bands? Gabriel Ortiz Equipment 7 05-14-2008 10:41 AM
Woody Bands vs. Perform Better Super Bands Steve Reggio Equipment 9 04-19-2008 03:17 PM
Help with goal setting Allan Bulkley Starting 6 01-13-2006 09:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit Inc.