CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 11-21-2005, 11:13 AM   #1
Graham Tidey

Profile:
Alright all,

I've been doing planches and L-Sits etc for a while, but since putting serious time into HSPUs and MU's I'm starting to notice a distinct lack of static strength exercises.

I used to be up to ten+ seconds on the tuck planche (the one after the frog) but I did that as a warm up exercise when I was a student. Now warm ups are a rare thing due to all the work I've got on.

Would a gymnastics strength holds WoD be feasible? If so, tabata'd? FGB'd? How?

Also any programme ideas? Just curious because I know there are quite a few zen gymnastics backflipping around the board.

Cheers and Obrigado,
Graham
Old 11-21-2005, 12:05 PM   #2
Ian Holmes

Profile:
While I would in no way put myself down as a zen gymnast who prances around the board *grin*, I have some thoughts on it.
It is simply this. If you have neglected strength specific training than it is likely you will see a decrease in strength. While the WOD is excellent, it does very little in the way of building static strength (specifically). I would suggest practicing your planches, HS, levers every morning and evening for a few minutes. This would give your body a decent amount of time to rest between the WOD and the static training, and still ensure that you are getting training time in.
Old 11-21-2005, 01:21 PM   #3
Larry Lindenman

Profile:
Graham, I work static holds, for 2 minutes, after the WOD. I pick my poison and go. Yesterday were L-sits. Usually, well always, I cant hold it for 2 minutes so I rest a little and reset. Hey, it's "only" 2 minutes!
Old 11-21-2005, 02:12 PM   #4
Jesse Woody

Profile: