CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 06-26-2007, 03:46 PM   #1
Patrick Donnelly

Profile:
Today, I got some emails from my Cross Country coach, outlining our team's summer training schedule. 39 miles a week, 4.5 hours. He wants a log filled out and sent to him too.

Here was my reply, which I've been brooding over for the past several months:

============================================

Coach Kershes,

Please, get ready for a long read, and it'd be best to go over all of it in one go.

Thanks for the emails about summer training, however, there's no way I'm going to be able to follow that schedule. Since the end of last year's XC season, I've come to believe that running is honestly one of the worst ways to train for running. Racking up large mileages (like 39 a week or more) doesn't build any strength. Rather, it:
- raises levels of cortisol, which breaks down muscle tissue
- inflames joins because of free radicals created by the breakdown of tissue
- leads to an overconsumption of carbohydrate that results in hyperinsulinemia (too much insulin) and stored bodyfat
- leaves the body with no chance to recover, leading to chronic injury and illness (such as the shin splints I had last year)

Last year, 5-6 miles a day not only left me injured, but I didn't even enjoy it. It became a chore, and it made me feel like c*** to do it.

Welcome to CrossFit.
http://www.crossfit.com/