CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Testimonials
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Testimonials CrossFit's successes / your achievements

Old 08-30-2009, 04:39 AM   #1
Peter Yeates

Profile:
I ran a Marathon after 8 weeks of training

Pete's Marathon race report – Training with the The Cell Fitness www.thecellfitness.com.au wfs

Background:

I have been Crossfitting for about 2 yrs, originally following the Main page WOD's and since January this year training with my affiliate “The Cell Fitness” in Perth Western Australia. Before crossfit I was purely a Cyclist, and before this a runner, the whippet type of body shape. I did run a Marathon 12 yrs ago on a flat course at 30 yrs of age and finished in 3:07, but this destroyed me and had to give up running straight afterwards due to re-occurring injury. An injury which hasn't been an issue since crossfit and running with a combination of Pose / Chi type styles.

8 wks ago I finished reading “Born To Run” and this inspired me to one day run a marathon. My running at this time was only 50m – 800 meter intervals incorporated into the WOD's at the CELL once or twice a week, sometimes I even have to carry a 25kg sandbag or 2 x 32kg kettlebells for distance. The Cell doesn't program the 5 or 10 km runs of the main site, so since about December the above was the only running I had done.

Now because I already train 5 – 6 days per week at the Cell, Cross Country Mountain Bike or Road Cycle for 2 – 3 hrs, and Yoga for 1.5 hrs once weekly, there was only time to add 1 extra run.

I decided on Saturday afternoons after work to be the time for the Long Slow Distance (LSD) Training. I know Crossfit goes against LSD training, instead preferring to add 2 x interval sessions and one time trial, but having trialled this type of training for a 100km MTB race earlier in the year, I know my body responds better to the LSD.

Run Training Progress =