CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 09-25-2013, 05:40 AM   #1
Justin Scanlon

Profile:
Groupon offer: switching boxes for 3 months to save money?

I am new to crossfit (4-5 months) and love my box and coaches. No complaints about anything at my current box. Just curious, has anyone ever taken advantage of a groupon to work out at a new/just opened box for a big discount (85% savings for 3 months) and then returned to their old box? Commute is not a factor. New box only does cf also and schedule (times to workout) is compatable. level 1 instructor.

Looking back, was the savings worth it? How do you approach your instructor and tell them you are going to another box?

Thanks
Old 09-26-2013, 01:00 PM   #2
Theresa Stephens

Profile:
Re: Groupon offer: switching boxes for 3 months to save money?

Honestly, just for the savings, it wouldn't be worth it to me. I could be biased since I am a new affiliate owner. But honestly, even when I was a member of a box, the community was too important to me to abandon just for three months of savings.
Old 09-28-2013, 05:38 PM   #3
Jeff Railsback

Profile:

You would be really rolling the dice. There is a fair chance that the new gym has trainers with little experience. I've seen it happen more than once. It's usually from people with no CrossFit experience. They find a groupon for a new box that has less than good coaching and programming. They use their groupon and get the wrong idea about CrossFit. My wife did one with a friend..... In 10 sessions there were no barbells, KB's, pull-ups, wall balls, etc. it was pretty much what you would get at a boot camp class at a big box gym.
Old 09-29-2013, 12:22 PM   #4
Brian Strump

Profile: