CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-28-2007, 05:25 PM   #1
B Michael Hill

Profile:
Intro - Can Crossfit work for me?

Hi, Brandon here. I'm a 24 year old male, about 5'10'', 240. I've always been reasonably active since high school, but have consistently eaten horribly. When I started to get serious about diet and exercise about a year ago, I weighed 265 or so. In about five months of eating properly (mostly), jogging daily, and doing some weight training, I got down to 215. Once I graduated about six months ago, I took a desk job and my fitness and diet have gone downhill. I'm back up around 240 now.

I'm wondering if the Crossfit system will be a good approach for me to get back to where I was and move beyond that. Ideally, I'd cut about fifty pounds of fat and get some muscle on. I'm not concerned with looking huge, but with improving real strength. I've noticed the beginner program on the front page, as well as the "pack" and "puppy" settings for the WOD. These look intriguing and doable. So, I suppose I have two questions:

1) Can Crossfit help me get to my goals?

2) How should I start? What should I be doing in order to get the most of Crossfit at a sustainable pace?
Old 12-28-2007, 05:41 PM   #2
Jason Lollar

Profile:  
Re: Intro - Can Crossfit work for me?

Go to the "Start Here!" link on the www.crossfit.com homepage. This will tell you just how to start CrossFitting.

Next, go to the "What is Crossfit?" link. This will explain why this is the best thing you could possibly do to meet your goals.

Finally, scour the rest of the site for information and motivation.

now...1, 2, 3, GO!
Old 12-28-2007, 05:46 PM   #3
Jake Di Vita

Profile:

1) Absolutely.